Why is Kona 64kwh only charging at 3.5kw when plugged into 11kw point

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by Akash Mathew, Jun 29, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Akash Mathew

Akash Mathew New Member

Hi,

I'm new to the EV space and Kona is my first electric car. When I plug into a public charging station that are marked 11kw or 7kw, my car only shows 2.5kw to 3.5kw charging rate. Is this how it is? It charges fine at 50kw or 150kw fast charging stations. Please advice. :)

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. mikeselectricstuff

mikeselectricstuff Active Member

Is it the new 2020 with 11kW charger, or the older one with 7kW?
    Which country are you in ?
    Did the car have a high state of charge when you plugged in ?

4. FloridaSun

FloridaSun Well-Known Member

I never heard of stations markes in KW.. Sometimes, I see the AMP rating but not the kw rating.. It sounds to me like you were on a power shared station. Some charging stations share the power between the charging spots.. If one car is connected, you get 7 kw and if 2 cars are connected, you get 3.5 kw each..That's very common to have power shared stations..

5. You might check to see what level your Kona is set at for AC charging. The car can be set at Maximum, Reduced or Minimum. If it is set an Reduced or Minimum it will limit the amount of charge the car can take. The settings can be found on the center display under battery management, just be low the percentage of charge settings. If set at Maximum it should charge at around 7 kwh. Also have you tried different public level 2 chargers some work better than others but in any case your car should be capable of a 7 kwh charge on an AC charger.

Akash Mathew likes this.
  6. I expect if these are Type 2 the EVSEs are marked with a rating pertaining to 3-phase and you are only using single phase. 11kW is 16 amps per phase, 3.6 kW. Or, the power limiter is set, as mentioned.