New Clarity Owner

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by hamr4267, Sep 4, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. For over a year I've been looking at a few PHEVs and last week I bought a 2019 Clarity Touring. I really like it and I'm still learning how it works. I keep forgetting to open the charge door. The outlet is on the other side of the car, so the cord isn't long enough for me to reach the open button inside the car. So I just have to lay it down, (say a cuss word or two), open door, hit button, then recover the charger off the floor. Also I seem to want to use the AC temp know to turn up/down the radio volume.

I plan on only using my wall outlet for charging (110). My work commute is 15 miles round trip. I am clueless about charging on the road and I will not bring my EVSE with me if I go on a longer trip. Which App is a good one to have on standby for finding chargers? And are some free? This is my first hybrid car/EV/ car.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. 2002

2002 Well-Known Member

Congratulations on your new car! You can also open the charge door using the key fob, press and hold the button that looks like an electric plug.

Plugshare.com is one place you can get charger info. But most Clarity owners don't use external charging stations even on trips, because the car runs fine even if you use up EV range, and it's not worth the time or money to stop and charge. Even if charging is free which it occasionally is, it's usually not worth the time unless it happens to be where you are stopped already. Like some people are able to charge at work. The only time I ever charged away from home was one time when I was at a shopping mall and they had free charging, so I charged for the hour that I was in the mall. External charging stations already have the cable, you don't need to bring yours.