Eco driving mode...

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by brady, Sep 9, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

1. brady

brady Member

In ECO drive mode you can push the accelerator pedal down all the way to the point of first resistance (ICE ENGINE ENGAGE POINT) and you will get maximum battery only acceleration. The power/speedo bar will go all the way to the very tip of the blue bar but will NOT kick on the ICE. With practice I am now a pro and use this 100% of the time. This has really taken my clarity driving experience to the next level. Just thought I would share.

David A likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Dustin

Dustin Member

You will go through some tires and get some speeding tickets going full throttle everywhere. What sort of range are you getting? Did you buy the extended warranty? I imagine a roughly 10C discharge that often is hard on it.

I frequently accelerate in that fashion, but can't leave it pegged 100% of the time as I've alreqdy gotten 1 warning for such action by an officer. I am still getting around the rated EPA range, and more like 60 miles when easy on it.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Inside EVs mobile app

ClarityDoc likes this.
  4. Heino

Heino Active Member

I like the ECON mode... it kinda takes care of my lead foot driving style by slowly ramping up the acceleration. I don't floor the accelerator, and never really pushed things to where the engine comes on.

To me, I get enough acceleration by taking the "digital needle" to the 50% point.

5. amy2421

amy2421 Active Member

I like using the ECON mode so that I don't trip the ICE as easily when merging onto the highway. Otherwise I don't notice much difference either in driving performance or electric range. I like the fact that it stays on when I start the car if I've shut it off in ECON, don't have to remember to toggle it on every time.

Numbernine and ClarityDoc like this.
  6. Jaketesla

Jaketesla Member