Info in Manuals about EV Charging; a Rant

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by Ed Zwieback, Feb 10, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. I have 5 years of experience with a '15 Kia Soul EV, and so I expected to transition easily to managing EV battery charging with my '20 Kona EV; but not so.
    The Kona battery charging info is scattered over the many manuals provided, and, surprising to me, the management methods and info differ from the Soul EV . It's complicated!

Specifically, I want to know how to set , or manage, the maximum charging limit when using "Immediate charging" (page H11 and H17). It's probably somewhere but can't find this info. Does Immediate Charging use the Scheduled-charging charging-limit?
    With the KIA Soul EV, Immediate charging results in 100% charging limit only.
    Time at 100% charge should be kept to a minimum, regardless of EV.

Rant: I have never used the portable charger (Level 1) that came with the Soul EV and don't expect to use it with the Kona EV. Level 1 charging has got to be the last resort.
    The Kona EV System Overview (H pages) has 10 pages explaining use of the portable charger; that's 16% of the whole EV System Overview.

Finally, to me, all the info/process for Departure Times and Climate-Schedules get into the way of basic Battery Charging management.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. It's possibly the prior Soul experience that triggered this confusion. This is my first EV, I didn't find it hard and everything works.
    The charge limiter works independently and always applies, 10 to 100%, separate for AC and DC.
    If no charging schedule is programmed or enabled then it always starts when the EVSE is plugged in and makes power available.
    If a charge schedule is enabled, then the schedule applies unless you override it with the button a short time after plugging in.