Thinking of Getting an EV: Any Recommendations?

Discussion in 'General' started by SouthernDude, Jul 18, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. SouthernDude

SouthernDude Active Member

I live in the south east and nearly all of my driving for both work and vacation is around Alabama, Georgia, and North Florida (rarely Tennessee, North Carolina, and South Carolina)

I work as a consultant, so my driving schedule is inconsistent and unpredictable since I must meet my clients onsite. The vast majority of my long distance driving is for work and my work driving needs greatly exceed my Vacation/Holiday/Recreational needs. I can't put an exact number, but at least 30-40% of the time (in a busy year) I have to drive above 200 miles a day and occasionally up to 400 miles a day (or in one trip like when I had to drive the whole panhandle of Florida to the Georgia coast o_O).

Don't have a super big budget - maybe around $20-$25k. Could go to the $30k, but I don't want to spend a ton on a car (I'm young and I need to save for retirement). Used doesn't bother me battery degradation does (for obvious reasons lol).

Soooo. What do y'all think?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. bwilson4web

bwilson4web Well-Known Member Subscriber

For your requirements, I'd recommend pretty much any used, plug-in hybrid:
    • 2015+ BMW i3-REx - 72 mi EV + 2.3 gal gas engine, 150 mi range. You'll be able to charge and run on cheap electricity every morning and gas the rest of the day as needed. This is my backup car for our 240 mi, Tesla Model 3. However, tires last about 30-35k miles and expensive.
    • 2016+ Chevy Volt - 50 mi EV + 8 gal gas engine, 420 mi range. Discontinued earlier this year, they are heavily discounted.
    • 2016+ Prius Prime - 25 mi EV + 11 gal gas engine, 640 mile range. It has Prius +55 MPG mileage and a 640 mile range. It was our backup for the BMW i3-REx until I traded the Prime in, $18.3k, for our Tesla Model 3.
    Let me suggest these resources: